PublisherRevenue Guide

The business behind
independent publishing.

New here? Choose a reading path ↗

Research guide / Research synthesis

Compare ad partners by denominator, eligibility, and cash timing

A dated comparison of AdSense, Journey, Mediavine Official, Raptive, Ezoic, and Monumetric, with traffic units, shares, payment conflicts, and implementation conditions visible.

Research update · 15 September 2026: corrected Journey’s entry and Grow requirements using the dated August announcement, confirmed its published share and payment basis, and added Ezoic and Monumetric with unresolved conflicts shown.

An open laptop displaying the Unsplash website on a table.
Reference photograph: a digital workspace, not an advertising dashboard. Bernd Dittrich / Unsplash ↗
Open the visual model ↗
Illustrative inventory branches from 144,000 eligible requests to 45,000 direct impressions and 99,000 requests available for network fill.
Original editorial diagram / Conceptual illustration; not benchmark data.

A threshold is only the first gate

Ad-management comparisons often compress unlike requirements into one traffic number. That creates bad decisions. A pageview is not a session, and Mediavine's current main-program gate is not a traffic threshold at all. As checked on 15 September 2026, Mediavine’s dated Journey announcement specifies 1,000 premium sessions per month; Mediavine Official says at least $5,000 in annual ad revenue; and Raptive says at least 25,000 monthly pageviews. AdSense publishes no universal traffic minimum in the material reviewed. Each program also reviews policy standing, content, traffic quality, geography, or technical fit.

The period and denominator matter. Raptive's 25,000 figure is monthly pageviews. Its current support page adds different geography conditions by traffic band: sites with 25,000 to 99,999 pageviews need 50% of traffic from the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, New Zealand, and Australia; sites at 100,000 or more need 40%. The same page requires Google Analytics, a domain at least six months old, and quality conditions. That analytics requirement conflicts with this portfolio's preference to avoid Google Analytics, so Raptive is operationally unsuitable unless the policy or portfolio choice changes.

Terms checked against first-party pages on 15 September 2026
ProgramPublished entry pointShare or commissionPayment condition
Google AdSense for ContentNo universal traffic gate found80% after the advertiser platform fee; Google says about 68% when Google Ads buys the display adMonthly; issued around the 21st–26th after finalization, threshold, and holds
Journey by Mediavine1,000 premium sessions/month; application evaluates Google Analytics data70% of advertiser/network gross proceeds recorded by Mediavine’s ad serverNet 65 from month end; confirm the applicable payment-method minimum
Mediavine Official$5,000+ prior annual ad revenue plus review75% for sites launched after 1 January 2026 in OfficialTerms should be confirmed in the offered agreement
Raptive25,000 monthly pageviews plus geography, age, analytics, content, and technical conditions75% of ad revenueNet 45; payment method affects receipt timing
EzoicGenerally 250,000+ monthly active users; Incubator and legacy exceptionsTerms: at least 82% of defined Net Revenue for display ads, unless otherwise agreed; deductions applySupport: default Net 30, $20 minimum. Contract uses advertiser-receipt timing; see conflict below
Monumetric Propel10,000–80,000 monthly pageviews; platform, geography, layout and approval conditionsCompany advertises 15–30% commission depending on ad technology; exact base/offer needs confirmationHelp page: Net 60, January paid in April, $10 minimum. Propel page gives a different schedule

Eligibility permits an application, not acceptance or a forecast. Shares use different upstream denominators and are not directly comparable without gross auction and fee data.

Source notes: AdSense revenue share · Payment timelines for AdSense · What does it take to get approved by Mediavine? · Revenue Share · Who is eligible for Raptive? · Getting Started with Raptive · Getting Started: Ezoic’s Requirements · Ezoic Incubator · Ezoic Terms of Use · Ezoic Payments · Propel Program · Website Monetization · Payment Terms and How You are Paid · Propel Payment · Two Years of Journey by Mediavine · Journey Revenue Share · Why does Journey pay NET65?

Revenue share needs a denominator

Google now describes AdSense for Content as paying the publisher 80% after the advertiser platform takes its fee. When Google Ads is the buying platform, Google says the publisher keeps about 68% of the advertiser-side revenue. A separate platform partner can take another share after the standard AdSense share. Mediavine's 75% Official share and Raptive's 75% share are their stated publisher splits, but their public pages do not make every upstream auction cost comparable to Google's example. The percentages therefore cannot be ranked as if they divide the same dollar at the same point in the chain.

Ask every provider to define gross revenue, net revenue, discrepancies, ad-serving costs, partner units, invalid-traffic adjustments, and any third-party share. Then reconcile the contract definition with the dashboard and remittance. A higher nominal share can still produce less publisher revenue if demand, fill, viewability, geography, or page performance is weaker. Conversely, a lower share might yield more net cash. The decision unit is net contribution per eligible page or session after all incremental costs, not the headline percentage.

Source notes: AdSense revenue share · Revenue Share · Getting Started with Raptive

Check the work required to qualify

Mediavine’s 7 August 2026 announcement says Journey’s application now evaluates Google Analytics data and Grow is optional. The Journey homepage still asks for Grow to run for 30 days. Use the dated update for the revised application route, while recording the conflicting page. “Premium” sessions refer to markets such as the US, UK, Canada and Australia; other traffic is not a penalty. The analytics dependency conflicts with this portfolio’s current tooling preference.

Ezoic’s current general entry gate is monthly active users, not sessions or pageviews. Its support page describes legacy access for sites active before 19 February 2026, with continuity conditions; its Incubator page instead says before 18 February. That one-day discrepancy remains unresolved. Incubator is a separate application route for smaller sites, not automatic acceptance.

Ezoic’s onboarding material describes Google Analytics verification, while its Incubator page also describes automatic detection or an analytics provider. A compatible verification method remains unconfirmed for this portfolio. Its quality policy requires Google MCM approval and exclusive control of the ad environment; a proposed direct-sponsor fallback arrangement needs explicit compatibility review.

Monumetric’s Propel page requires WordPress or Blogger, a 300-pixel sidebar, at least six ad slots on both desktop and mobile, at least 50% traffic from the US, UK, Canada and Australia, provider approval, and a $99 setup fee. Its form asks for pageviews according to Google Analytics. This static website does not meet the stated CMS condition; do not infer compatibility or an exception from the traffic gate alone.

Source notes: Getting Started: Ezoic’s Requirements · Ezoic Incubator · Ezoic Publisher Compliance and Quality Policies for Monetization · Propel Program · Two Years of Journey by Mediavine · Journey by Mediavine homepage — conflicting Grow requirement

Keep conflicting payment promises visible

Ezoic’s support page describes default Net 30 and optional Net 60/90 cycles. Its terms, updated 12 June 2026, condition payment on advertiser receipt and describe approximately 35 days after Ezoic receives it, unless otherwise agreed. The terms also define Net Revenue after specified costs and allow further adjustments. Its headline percentage therefore cannot be applied to gross advertiser spend. Confirm which agreement controls the account’s payment calendar.

Monumetric’s payment help page describes one monthly payment during the first ten business days, calls the terms Net 60, and explicitly maps January revenue to April. Its Propel payment page instead mentions payments on the fifth and twenty-fifth and a first-payment window of 30–60 days. These pages do not establish one consistent schedule; the offered agreement and a dated clarification are still needed.

This is a comparison of published terms, not a legal interpretation of a particular contract. A checked source can still conflict with another checked source. Record the conflict before budgeting the cash, and distinguish normal payouts from final settlement after departure.

Journey’s own payment page states Net 65 from month end. Mediavine’s general payment guide says a $100 threshold applies to most publishers, with payment-method and currency variations. That general threshold is not an unconditional Journey-specific promise; confirm the selected method and account terms. Journey’s published 70% share remains distinct from Mediavine Official’s tiers.

Source notes: Ezoic Payments · Ezoic Terms of Use · Payment Terms and How You are Paid · Propel Payment · Why does Journey pay NET65? · Journey Revenue Share · When am I getting paid?

Use a reversible comparison

Build a one-page terms sheet before applying. Record the gate and denominator, measurement system, geography mix, exclusivity, notice period, ad-density controls, data obligations, payout threshold, payment lag, bank fees, and treatment of previously booked direct campaigns. Keep the source URL and check date beside every term. A marketing page can change, while the signed agreement controls the relationship.

For a pilot, capture eligible pageviews, requests, filled impressions, viewability, publisher revenue, page performance, complaints, consent rate, and actual operations hours. Compare the same pages and a similar seasonal period where possible. Stop if the implementation breaks the site's reader promise, requires an unapproved analytics dependency, or produces too little contribution after labor. Do not move a direct sponsor's inventory into a network test without honoring the sponsor's delivery terms.

Journey’s exclusivity policy permits affiliate and sponsored/brand work but gives Journey control of programmatic advertising, including restrictions on testing competing networks. Its support guidance requires 30 days’ written termination notice. The leaving guide asks for 90 days of placements with limited density changes. Confirm the signed initial term and exit date before proposing a reversible pilot; technical removal alone does not settle the agreement.

  • Treat every threshold as dated and program-specific.
  • Keep pageviews, sessions, ad impressions, and eligible requests in separate fields.
  • Use collected publisher revenue after named costs as the economic result.
  • Recheck public terms before applying and review the offered contract before acceptance.

Source notes: Programs and the Publisher Path to Growth · Who is eligible for Raptive? · Getting Started with Raptive · Why Journey requires exclusivity · What Journey Supports Directly · Leaving Journey

Sources & limits

Published terms were checked on 15 September 2026. Payment-page conflicts, account-specific fees/minimums, analytics alternatives, exceptions and offered contracts still need resolution. These vendor statements establish no earnings forecast or recommendation.

Adapted from supplied research. See the evidence and review method. Section source notes identify supporting references; operational suggestions remain editorial judgment.

  1. AdSense revenue share
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  2. Payment timelines for AdSense
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  3. What does it take to get approved by Mediavine?
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  4. Programs and the Publisher Path to Growth
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  5. Revenue Share
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  6. Who is eligible for Raptive?
    First-party product documentation · Source published 5 June 2026 · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  7. Getting Started with Raptive
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  8. Getting Started: Ezoic’s Requirements
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  9. Ezoic Incubator
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  10. Ezoic Publisher Compliance and Quality Policies for Monetization
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  11. Ezoic Terms of Use
    First-party product documentation · Source updated 12 June 2026 · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  12. Ezoic Payments
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  13. Propel Program
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  14. Website Monetization
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  15. Payment Terms and How You are Paid
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  16. Propel Payment
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  17. Two Years of Journey by Mediavine
    First-party product documentation · Source published 7 August 2026 · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  18. Journey Revenue Share
    First-party product documentation · Source updated 12 April 2024 · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  19. Why does Journey pay NET65?
    First-party product documentation · Source updated 12 April 2024 · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  20. Why Journey requires exclusivity
    First-party product documentation · Source updated 7 May 2024 · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  21. Journey by Mediavine homepage — conflicting Grow requirement
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  22. What Journey Supports Directly
    First-party product documentation · Source updated 22 July 2026 · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  23. Leaving Journey
    First-party product documentation · Source updated 21 August 2026 · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026
  24. When am I getting paid?
    First-party product documentation · Publication date not stated · Primary source checked · 15 September 2026

Source claims and editorial judgments remain separate. Send a correction with the passage and supporting evidence.

Keep going

Also on the desk.

Explore the library ↗

A clearer view of the business

The Revenue Letter.

One useful model. One question worth asking.
A considered note for independent publishers.